Saturday, April 17, 2010

Elections for a new board of trustees

As anniversaries go, this does not quite compete with the birth of demigods or emperors, but it does demand something more than indifference. 2010 has a legitimate claim to being the 100th anniversary of Indian democracy. In January 1910, following the Minto-Morley reforms, 27 members, elected on the basis of limited franchise and separate electorates, took their seats in the 60-member Imperial Legislative Council, housed in Calcutta. The elective principle had to be reformed and refined periodically but was never, in India, abandoned.]

Sri Aurobindo Ashram Trust should celebrate this other centenary by holding elections for a new board of trustees. [TNM]

No comments:

Post a Comment